IOC-UNESCO welcomes the Republic of Nauru as its 148th Member State

On 11 February 2016, the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of UNESCO welcomed the Republic of Nauru as a new Member State, bringing to 148 the membership of the Commission, among which 35 Member States are Small Island Developing States (SIDS).

Several areas of IOC activities are of interest to Nauru, among which tsunami warning, the development of predictive tools that address coastal areas of local interest to SIDS, sea-level monitoring, as well as capacity-building in climate change phenomena, impacts and adaptation strategies.

The participation of Nauru in the Commission’s activities will in turn contribute to the cooperation of the Member States of the region, primarily through the IOC Intergovernmental Sub-Commission for the Western Pacific (WESTPAC) and the Intergovernmental Coordination Group for the Pacific Ocean Tsunami Warning and Mitigation System (ICG/PTWS).

For a complete list of IOC Member States, click here.