News

How does sport coexist with the pandemic?

The Ibero-American Council of Sport (CID), UNESCO and the Ibero-American General Secretariat (SEGIB), organize this Friday 9 of October 2020, the 2nd Ibero-American Conference of Sports in times of Covid-19, which brings together Ministers and High Authorities of sports, international organizations, and regional sports organizations.

This meeting gives continuity to what has been discussed during the 1st Conference of Ministers and High Authorities of Sports of Ibero-America: Sports in times of Covid-19, where governments shared their initiatives of sports policies facing the pandemic and sought collaboration strategies.

The second Conference continues the process of exchange and cooperation, in particular, deepening the experiences that are being developed for a better inclusive revival of sport in its coexistence with the pandemic.

During the event, the report Sport in Times of Pandemic, a view from Ibero-America, promoted by CID and UNESCO, will be launched. It collects the main actions carried out in the region during the crisis and poses some recommendations that can help improve sport policies, during and after the pandemic.

Furthermore, interventions from the Pan-American Health Organization (PAHO), Panam Sports and several government representatives from the region will take place.

Follow the event through the hashtag #DeporteYCovid

Twitter accounts

@unescomvdo

@SEGIBdigital

Date and time of the event -

  • Friday 9 of October 2020, 16:00 Spain - 15:00 Portugal - 11:00 Argentina and Uruguay - 09:00 Colombia, Ecuador and Peru - 08:00 Costa Rica

 

Journalists interested in covering the Conference, contact a.matyszczyk@unesco.org

agenda_2a_conferencia_deporte_covid19_en_iberoamerica.pdf